Bernard Lanskey receives 2023 SEADOM Honorary Award in Music

The Southeast Asian Directors of Music Association (SEADOM) is proud to announce that the first recipient of the SEADOM Honorary Award in Music Leadership will be Prof. Dr. Bernard Lanskey, who was SEADOM’s founding president (2012-2014 President Pro-Tem, 2014-2021 Association President).

A newly established award, the SEADOM Honorary Award in Music Leadership may be awarded to any living person whose contributions to music leadership in Southeast Asia is outstanding and of lasting importance to professional music training in the region.

Lanskey’s vital role in the establishment of the SEADOM Association included the initially organizational structures, leading the thematic development of the SEADOM Annual Congresses, overseeing the formal establishment of SEADOM as a registered association in Thailand, and in 2018, the recognition of SEADOM by the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Secretariat as the first music-related NGO to be associated with ASEAN.

Lanskey’s important leadership as Dean of the Yong Siew Tow Conservatory of Music at the National University of Singapore from 2006-2021 saw YST evolve into a leading regional voice for musical interconnectivity and creative harmony.

The SEADOM Executive Council is honored to present this inaugural award to Professor Lanskey, who will receive it at the upcoming SEADOM Annual Congress, taking place on 9-11 March, 2023 at the College of Music, Mahidol University in Thailand.

Bernard Lanskey’s full profile may be viewed here -

For information on the upcoming SEADOM Congress, please visit -

Share with


loading, please wait